World T20: Pakistan & Bangladesh to clash at Eden Gardens

KOLKATA: Today afternoon will be a big day for Pakistan as it will be confronting against Bangladesh when the two will meet at the Eden Gardens, only if Mashrafe Mortaza’s side let them.

Pakistan has won seven and lost two of their nine T20 matches against Bangladesh. But in the last two matches all Pakistan got was defeat from the state of Bangladesh.

Earlier in May 2015, the cricket team of Bangladesh was successful enough to had whitewashed Pakistan 3-0 in an ODI series as well as in the one-off T20 played at home.


The cricket team of Bangladesh, earlier this year, have won five of their last six completed T20I fixtures coming into this match. The solitary defeat was against India in the current Asia Cup final.

In contrast, Pakistan have won just two of their most recent six.

[Bangladesh] are playing really good cricket, been a good side, and we respect them, Pakistan coach Waqar Younis told journalists on Tuesday when asked to rate his team’s chances.

All in all, the coach, Waqar Younis tried to tone down the influence that Bangladesh have had over his players in the diminutive set-ups of cricket in the past one year.

This is the big stage. We are confident we will play good cricket, the coach said.

Mortaza acknowledged the statistics of the both state’s performances in his pre-match press conference, when he acknowledged Pakistan’s record against his side in the shortest format.

I think Pakistan have more experience than us, if you see history, Pakistan is better, he said.

Pakistan World T20 schedule

Wed, 16 Mar – against Bangladesh in Kolkata (afternoon);

Sat, 19 Mar – against India in Kolkata (evening);

Tue, 22 Mar – against New Zealand in Mohali (evening);

Fri, 25 Mar – against Australia in Mohali (afternoon).


Shahid Afridi (capt.); Anwar Ali; Imad Wasim; Khalid Latif; Ahmed Shehzad; Mohammad Amir; Mohammad Hafeez; Mohammad Irfan; Mohammad Nawaz; Mohammad Sami; Sarfraz Ahmed; Sharjeel Khan; Shoaib Malik; Umar Akmal and Wahab Riaz.

Coach – Waqar Younis