With 221 votes, Shahid Khaqaan Abbasi is now new PM

By bagging 221 votes, Shahid Khaqaan Abbasi of PML-N has been elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan for interim setup – a period of 45 days.

Syed Naveed Qamar of PPP got 47 votes, Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed from the PTI side has got 33 votes and Sahibzada Tariqullah of Jamaat-e-Islami has secured four votes. National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq congratulated the newly elected prime minister.

In our inaugural speech, Prime Minister Abbasi thanked the general public, coalition partners, Nawaz Sharif, and opposition parties.

It is pertinent to mention here that Shahid Khaqaan Abbasi of PML-N, Naveed Qamar of PPP, Sheikh Rasheed from PTI and Sahibzada Tariqullah of Jamaat-e-Islami were among the contenders for the prime minister slot in the interim setup.

Abbasi had the majority support in the National Assembly with 223 members including the members of MQM and JUI-F.

The voting process was conducted according to open ballot system. Different lobbies were made in the National Assembly and the concerned members cast their vote for their favourite candidate in separately designated lobbies.