Baaghi TV - Latest News and Updates

West Indies win toss, bat against India

Port of Spain (AFP): West Indies captain Jason Holder won the toss and chose to bat first against India on the opening day of the fourth and final Test at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad on Thursday.

Having already lost the series and facing the prospect of a 3-0 defeat, the home side have recalled specialist leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo at the expense of fast bowler Alzarri Joseph, who made his debut in the third Test in St Lucia.

With the series already wrapped up, India are pushing for another victory which will confirm them as the number one team in the international Test rankings.

Opening batsman Murali Vijay, ruled out of the last two matches with a thumb injury, returns to the team in place of Shikhar Dhawan.

For the first time in the series, the tourists have opted for only four specialist bowlers, omitting left-arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja in preference for middle-order batsman Cheteshwar Pujara.


West Indies: Jason Holder (captain), Kraigg Brathwaite, Leon Johnson, Darren Bravo, Marlon Samuels, Jermaine Blackwood, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wicketkeeper), Devendra Bishoo, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Murali Vijay, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wicketkeeper), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma

Umpires: Nigel Llong (ENG), Rod Tucker (AUS)

Match Referee: Ranjan Madugalle (SRI)