Du Plessis to captain World XI team in Pakistan

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Najam Sethi has said that the matches of World XI will be played on September 12, 13 and 15 in Pakistan.

The World XI team will include players from seven countries. Five players will be from South Africa, two from West Indies, three from Australia and one player each from Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and England will be included in the squad.

“Samuel Badree and Hashim Amla will be a part of World XI that will play matches in Pakistan. All T20 matches will be played at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore,” he told.

Gaddafi Stadium had also hosted the final match of Pakistan Super League (PSL) second edition earlier this year.

Photo courtesy: Cricinfo

The World XI players include Andy Flower as head coach. Grant Elliott, Tamim Iqbal, Ben Cutting, Thisara Perera, George Bailey, Faf du Plessis (captain), David Miller, Morkel, Tim Paine (wicket-keeper), Paul Collingwood, Imran Tahir, Darren Sammy, Hashim Amla and Samuel Badree.

On the other hand, Sarfaraz Ahmed is likely to be the captain of Pakistani side. The names in the Pakistani squad have yet to be announced.