Baaghi TV - Latest News and Updates

Parliamentary ministries confused about the status of Sehwan land

KARACHI: The present position of land infringements in Sehwan could not be elucidated by three government legislatures, counting two ministers, in the Sindh Assembly on Friday. The subject came up in the course of the question hour, which related to the Auqaf and sports sections.

The queries were first replied by parliamentary secretary Sikandar Shoro, but when he could not correctly answer, law and parliamentary affairs minister Nisar Khuhro took up the responsibility. Upon providing wrong evidence, finance minister Murad Ali Shah walked in to deliver the precise data.

The selections of the sports and Auqaf departments are held by chief minister Syed Qaim Ali Shah, who attained late but did not reply to the queries.

Answering to a question by Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf legislator Khurram Sher Zaman concerning the present status of the 16 acres of Lal Bagh in Sehwan that had been impinged on, Mr Khuhro said that 32 acres had been selected by the revenue department to the Auqaf department in 1991 for the remodelling of Lal Bagh.

The official pointed out that the same question had been asked by Muttahida Qaumi Movement legislator Heer Ismail Soho in 2010 and the same answer had been given; why had the government not been able to get the land unbound in spite of the gap of so many years.

Despite the fact that Mr Khuhro said that efforts were being made to get it vacated, finance minister Murad Ali Shah said that the encroachment had been emptied by the district administration a couple of years back and the Sehwan Town Committee had established a park on it.

Pakistan Muslim League-Functional (PML-F) legislator Mahtab Rashdi asked whether the town committee had now impinged on the land, but both ministers differed. The legislator, who is a former senior bureaucrat, explained that when the land was allotted to the Auqaf department so after removal of the encroachment by Mr Rind, it should have been handed back to the department.