Baaghi TV - Latest News and Updates

Opposition-backed Sadiq Sanjrani and Saleem Mandiwala Sworn in as Senate Chairman, Deputy Chairman

ISLAMABAD: Opposition parties’ candidate Mir Sadiq Sanjrani has been elected as chairman of upper house of Pakistan’s parliament, ARY News reported.

Sanjrani secured 57 votes, while PML-N backed Raja Zafarul Haq secured 46 out of the total 103 cast for the seat.

The secret voting for Senate’s chairman and deputy chairman concluded at about 5:30 PM on Monday.

Sanjrani, an independent senator, had been backed by Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) and the Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P).

Sanjrani was sworn in as custodian of the house soon after the election.

In another blow to the ruling PML-N and its allies, PPP’s Saleem Mandviwalla was elected as the deputy chairman and sworn in by Senate Chairman Sadiq Sajrani .

Mandviwalla was contesting against government-backed Usman Khan Kakar from PkMAP and secured 54 votes.

Ruling Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) had announced to field senator Raja Zafarul Haq as candidate for Senate chairman, while Usman Kakar for the deputy chairman seat.

Opposition parties, allies congratulate Sanjrani

Senator Aitazaz summarized the support for Sanjarani in the following tweet:

PTI’s official twitter handle congratulated Sanjarani in the following words:

Senate chairman is the custodian of the upper house and remains politically impartial at the time of discharging his duties. The chairman represents both the opposition and treasury benches. In absence of the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, Senate chairman acts as the President.

Pakistan’s Senate comprises of 104 members and to replace the outgoing Senate chairman Raza Rabbani with their candidates, the mainstream parties needed at least 53 votes.

The PML-N with its independent candidates emerged as the largest parliamentary group of the house with 33 Senators. While, the PPP has overall 20 seats in the Senate and the PTI stands third major party in the Senate with 13 seats.

The groups of independent senators-elect from Balochistan and Federally Administrated Tribal Areas (Fata) were believed to play a crucial role in the  election for the offices of Senate chairman and deputy chairman.

The groups of independent senators-elect enjoy the support of Imran Khan-led PTI, former president Asif Ali Zardari-led PPP and MQM-P.

Swearing-in of Senators

In the session today, 51 newly elected senators also took oath to secure their respective seats of the upper house after which the session had adjourned.

The oath-taking ceremony was administered by presiding officer Senator Yaqoob Nasir.

Following the adjournment of the session, nomination papers for the Senate chairman and deputy Chairman were submitted at the house of 104-members.

As per constitutional provisions, half of the senators retire every three years.

Published here.