Baaghi TV - Latest News and Updates

List of British Pakistanis who won UK general elections

As many as 40 candidates of Pakistani origin contested in the June 8 elections in the United Kingdom, of which 12 have been successful in reaching the House of Commons.


Of the 12 successful British-Pakistanis, which include five women candidates, nine belong to the Labour while three represent the Conservative party.

Although most candidates succeeded in the previous elections but Afzal Khan from Gorton area of Manchester and Muhammad Yaseen from Bendford have been elected on Labour party’s tickets for the first time.


Khalid Mehmood, Shabana Mehmood, Rozeena-Allin Khan, Yasmin Qureshi, Naz Shah, Imran Hussain, Afzal Khan, Mohammed Yasin and Faisal Rasheed from Labour have all secured their spots in Westminster.

Sajid Javed, Nusrat Ghani and Rehman Chishti from Conservatives have defended their respective constituencies successfully. Tasmeena Sheikh of Scottish National Party (SNP) has lost her seat to Conservatives. No other Pakistani origin candidate from other political parties or independent could make it to the hung Parliament.


Labour’s Khalid Mahmood


Khalid Mehmood has defended his seat for the record 5th time. He has returned with an increased majority of 18,383. Mahmood gained 68% of the overall vote, a 10% increase on his vote share in 2015.



Labour’s Shahbana Mehmood



Shabana Mehmood successfully defended her seat for the third time. Shabana secured 34,166 votes – nearly 29,000 more than her closest rival.
A former barrister, Ms Mahmood worked for the treasury and on international trade. She protested the European Council of Justice’s banning of clothes of faith.



Labour’s Naz Shah


Naz Shah, Labour candidate from Bradford West for the second time, won with a clear majority in Bradford west constituency. Shah secured 29,744 votes and her rival independent candidate Salma Yaqoob could only get 6345 votes.
Born and raised in Bradford, the 41-year-old mother of three is a women’s rights campaigner and the former chair of a mental health charity.

“I will continue to fight Islamophobia, misogyny, antisemitism and all other prejudices that we face on a daily basis,” Naz Shah tweeted to followers days ahead of the polling.

Labour’s Yasmin Qureshi


Yasmin Qureshi, one of the first Muslim women parliamentarians, defended her seat for the third time. Qureshi secured 25,676 votes, Yasmin won with an exceptional lead of nearly 12,500 votes.




Labour’s Rosena Allen-Khan


Labour Party’s Rosena Allen-Khan retained her Tooting seat with 34,694 votes, against the Conservative Party’s Dan Watkins who secured only 19,236 votes.

In the 2015 polls, Sadiq had bagged the constituency with a small margin — getting 25,263 votes against 22,421 votes for Watkins.

An emergency room doctor, Mr Allin-Khan is proud of her working class roots and Pakistani-Polish heritage. She has raised her two children as Muslims.

London Mayor Sadiq Khan extended full support to Ms Allin-Khan, who is his successor in Tooting. “Here in Tooting, we’re going door to door, street to street until 10pm for Dr Rosena,” Mr Khan tweeted on Thursday night. The following morning, he hailed her victory as an “incredible result”.



Labour’s Imran Hussain


Imran Hussain got 29,841 votes. He won from this constituency with a clear majority of over 20000 votes and secured 65.4% votes of the overall turnout with 18% swing towards labour in this constituency. Imran will represent Bradford East for the second time in Westminster.



Labour’s Afzal Khan


Labour’s Afzal Khan, who is also a European Member of Parliament, won the Gorton seat which had been vacant following the death of veteran MP Sir Gerald Kaufman. Afzal Khan romped home to victory with a majority of 31,730, up by 8,391 – comfortably defeating a challenge by George Galloway. Afzal khan grabbed a total of 35083 votes.


Labour’s Mohammad Yasin


Labour’s Mohammed Yasin, who stood for the Westminster for the first time, has beaten Conservative party’s Richard Fuller. Win for Mohammed Yasin came as a surprise as he was branded a paper candidate but his services for the city as a councillor for last 11 years has earned him a seat in Westminster. Mr Yasin won in Bedford with a narrow margin of over 800 but it was a well deserved victory in the end. Mr Yasin grabbed 22,712 votes in total, with a total swing for labour from this constituency was 6.6% and a turn out of 46.8% for Labour.



Labour’s Faisal Rashid


Warrington’s first Muslim Lord Mayor and Labour Party candidate for Warrington south constituency Faisal Rasheed has won with a majority of nearly 2500. Faisal was favourite from this constituency thanks to the Labour swing of 9.1% which enabled him to get 29,994 total votes with 48.4% turn out in favour of Labour.


Conservative Party’s Sajid Javid


Sajid Javed, Conservative candidate for Bromsgrove, has defended his seat for the third time. Sajid Javaid who was tipped to become joint leader of Tory party has served in various ministerial posts. Sajid has secured 33, 493 votes. Mr Javed won the seat with a margin of over 16,000 votes.
Conservative Party’s Rehman Chishti


Rehman Chishti attended the count on election night with Sanam Bhutto. He has previously worked with Benazir Bhutto and he successfully defended his seat for third time for Gillingham constituency. Mr Rehman secured a total of 27,091 votes. His nearest rival could only get 17,000 votes so he won with a majority of over 10,000 votes from Gillingham and Rainham.


Conservative Party’s Nas Ghani


Nusrat Ghani, also known as Nas Ghani, the Conservative candidates for Wealdon, secured 37,027 total votes. Ms Nas won the seat with a majority of over 24000 and a swing in favour of Conservative of 4.2%. Ms Nas was the member of Parliament from Wealden in 2015 elections.



Tasmina Sheikh, the only British Pakistani Candidate from Scottish National Party, has lost to Tory Party. Tasmina secured 19110 votes with a swing of 20.8 % in favour of conservatives.


Many other Muslim candidates have made their way to parliament which include Bangaldeshi origin Roshanara Ali of Labour from Bethnal Green, Rupa Huq from Ealing, Tulip Siddique from Hampstead and Lib Dem’s Palestinian origin Layla Moran.