Baaghi TV - Latest News and Updates

Interior Ministry approves to place suspended players’ name on ECL

Islamabad: Federal Interior Minster Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan on Monday has ordered that the names of five cricketers, suspended for alleged involvement in spot-fixing during Pakistan Super League 2017, be placed on the Exit Control List (ECL).

During a meeting held today, the decision came up to approve the Federal Investigation Agency’s (FIA’s) request to include names of Mohammad Irfan, Shahzaib Hassan, Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif and Nasir Jamshed on ECL.

The investigation agency had written a letter to Interior Minister stating that all five were wanted in cricket corruption case hence they should be restricted to travel abroad.

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has provisionally suspended Sharjeel Khan, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Irfan and Shahzaib Hasan from all forms of cricket for violating the board’s anti-corruption code.

Sharjeel and Latif, who were suspended during the first week of the PSL for alleged links with an international fixing syndicate, could face a minimum five years’ ban.

Shahzaib Hasan and Irfan are also being handed over charge sheet for their alleged involvement in cricket corruption.

Former opener Nasir Jamshed, who resides in the UK, was suspended during Super League matches and PCB claimed to have ‘concrete evidence’ against him. He was also arrested along with another suspect by Britain’s National Crime Agency but later released on bail.