Hamid Khan group made vice chairman of the PBC by one vote.

The 214th meeting of the Pakistan Bar Council (1st meeting of the newly elected Council) was held today, the 25th January, 2016 at 3-00 p.m. in Council’s office, Islamabad with Mr. Salman Aslam Butt, Attorney-General for Pakistan and Chairman, Pakistan Bar Council in the Chair.

2. The attendance was as under:

(1) Mr. Kamran Murtaza from Quetta
(2) Mr. Muhammad Shoaib Shaheen from Islamabad
(3) Mr. Abdul Sattar Khan from Peshawar
(4) Mr. Sher Muhammad Khan from Swat
(5) Mr. Abdul Fayaz from Peshawar
(6) Syed Amjad Shah from Lahore
(7) Mr. Azam Nazeer Tarar from Lahore
(8) Mr. Muhammad Ahsan Bhoon from Lahore
(9) Mr. Muhammad Maqsood Buttar from Lahore
(10) Mr. Abid Saqi from Lahore .. Member
(11) Ch. Tahir Nasrullah Warraich from Lahore
(12) Ch. Ishtiaq Ahmad Khan from Lahore
(13) Mr. Hafeez-ur-Rehman Ch. from Lahore
(14) Mian Muhammad Shafiq Bhandara from Lahore
(15) Syed Qalb-i-Hassan from Rawalpindi
(16) Mr. Muhammad Raheel Kamran Sheikh from Lahore
(17) Malik Ghulam Mustafa Kandwal from Rawalpindi
(18) Mr. Muhammad Yousaf Laghari from Hyderabad
(19) Mr. Rasheed A. Razvi from Karachi
(20) Mr. Ghulam Shabbir Shar Baloch from Sukkur
(21) Dr. Muhammad Farogh Naseem from Karachi
(22) Mr. Muhammad Aqil from Karachi
(23) Mr. Akhtar Hussain from Karachi

3. Election of the Vice-Chairman

There were two candidates for election of Vice-Chairman of the Pakistan Bar Council for the year-2016, namely Dr. Muhammad Farogh Naseem from Karachi and Syed Amjad Shah from Abbottabad. After polling of votes, through secret ballot, Dr. Muhammad Farogh Naseem secured twelve (12) votes as against Syed Amjad Shah who obtained eleven (11) votes.

The Attorney-General who was acting as Returning Officer for Election of the Vice-Chairman, therefore, declared Dr. Muhammad Farogh Naseem elected as Vice-Chairman of the Pakistan Bar Council for the year 2016.