ECP Issues the Final List of GE-2018

Sixteen results have been withheld

Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued the much-awaited final list of the General Elections 2018 (GE-2018), however, results of the 16 constituencies, which are challenged in court on the count of voting, have been withheld.

As indicated by the ECP list (appended below), the consequences of every one of the five voting constituencies contested by PTI Chairman, Imran Khan and soon-to-be Prime Minister, have been held back.

Khan, Prime Minister in waiting, had challenged from NA-35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad-II), NA-95 (Mianwali-I), NA-131 (Lahore-IX) and NA-243 (Karachi East-II), and from all five he won. But his victory has been challenged in court by his political rivals on grounds of the wrong voting count.

As indicated by the ECP, the notice of Khan’s win in NA-35, NA-95, and NA-243 is liable to the last ECP decision.

According to ECP representative, Khan can take oath as the Prime Minister and officiate his duties regardless of the withheld seats in which his win has been challenged.

In the meantime, the result of16 constituencies, inclusive of Khan’s, have been withheld by ECP.

The withheld constituencies where voting count has been challgened are: NA-25, NA-35, NA-53, NA-60, NA-90, NA-91, NA-95, NA-103, NA-108, NA-112, NA-129, NA-131, NA-140, NA-215, NA-243 and NA-271.