Contempt of court: Notices issued to Nawaz, ministers

The Lahore High Court (LHC) has issued notices to former premier Nawaz Sharif and 11 federal ministers over a petition of contempt of court.

The petition was filed by Amna Malik, wife of Abdullah Malik who is the president of Armaan Foundation and Civil Society Network of Pakistan.

The petitioner requested the court to initiate contempt proceedings against Nawaz Sharif and the 11 federal minister over delivering anti-judiciary speeches.

During the initial hearing today, lawyer of the petitioners said the PML-N leadership has committed treason. At which, the court asked how can it be dubbed as treason? “The party of those you are labeling as traitors is in the government,” the judge said. The lawyer replied “former Nawaz Sharif is not associated with the government anymore.” The lawyer said as per the Constitution, no one is allowed to say anything against judiciary and army.

The court issued notices to all respondents including Nawaz Sharif, Pervaiz Rashid, Rana Sanaullah, Mushahid Ullah Khan, Tariq Fazal Chaudhry, Talal Chaudhry, Khawaja Saad Rafique, Maiza Hameed, Abid Sher Ali, Khawaja Asif, Danyal Aziz, Asif Karmani, Ishaq Dar and Absar Alam, chairman PEMRA.

All respondents have been ordered to file their replies by August 25.