Baaghi TV - Latest News and Updates

Azhar Ali, Umar Akmal terminated from both T20 and ODI squads

Lahore: Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq on Wednesday has announced the Twenty-Twenty (T20) and One Day International (ODI) squads for Pakistan’s upcoming tour of the West Indies. Umar Akmal and Azhar Ali were axed from both T20 and ODI sqauds.

Whereas, Kamran Akmal and Ahmad Shahzad were back to the T20 and ODI teams, following good performances in the recently concluded Pakistan Super League’s second edition.

Umar Akmal has failed to clear the fitness tests for which he was axed from both squads, Inzam ul Haq informed media.

Fakhar Zaman, Sarfraz Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Muhammad Nawaz, and Ahmad Shahzad have been included in the T20 team for West Indies tour. Usman Shinwari, Babar Azam, Wahab Riaz, Shoaib Malik, and Hassan Ali are also part of the T20 squad for upcoming tour.

Imad Wasim, Ahmad Shahzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Wahab Riaz, Shoaib Malik, Asif Zakir, Shadab Khan, Hassan Ali, Babar Azam, and Fakhar Zaman are named in ODI squad. Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Asghar, Fahim Ashraf, Mohammad Amir and Junaid Khan have also been included in ODI team for upcoming tour.

Former ODI Captain Azhar Ali has also been dropped from both squads.

While talking to media personnel, Chief Selector praised former captain and said that young players have been given a chance.

Inzam also praised Kamran’s performance in PSL and said if the need arose during the tour, for another wicket-keeper, Kamran would perform the task.