312 political parties yet to submit accounts statements to ECP


As many as 312 political parties have failed to submit their statements of bank accounts for the financial year 2016-17 with the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) within due time.

According to an official of the ECP, some major political parties couldn’t submit their statements of accounts, including Muttahida Qaumi Movement Pakistan (MQM-P), Muslim League Functional (PML-F), Pakistan Muslim League Zia (PML-Z), Pakhtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP) and Pakistan Muslim League Junejo (PML-J)

According to details, as many as 31 political parties out of 345 have submitted their statements of bank accounts, for the financial year 2016-17, with the ECP within due date.

The official also said that Majlis Wahdat-e-Muslimeen Pakistan (MWM) and Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) have submitted their account details after the expiry of final date of submission and added that any political party, which has failed to submit account statements within due time, will not be allowed to contest any election in future and these political parties will ‘not be issued’ a ‘party symbol’ by the ECP.

He said that the ECP has received statements from political parties, including Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N), Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Pakistan Peoples Party Parliamentarians (PPPP), Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Jamiat-e-Ulema Islam Fazal (JUI-F), Jamaat-e-Islami (JI), Awami National Party (ANP) and Pak Sarzameen Party (PSP).

According to details, following political parties have also submitted their statements: Pakistan Women Muslim League, Pakistan Gharib Party, Pakistan Jamaat Ahle-Hadith Pakistan Ropri, Tehreek-e-Tahafuze Pakistan, Jamhoori Watan Party, Move on  Pakistan, Hazara Democratic Party, Sindh United Party, Pakistan Peoples Party Workers, Pakistan Muhammadi Party, Pakistan Social Justice Party, Pakistan Supreme Democratic Party, Islami Tehreek Pakistan, Pakistan People’s Party Shaheed Bhutto, Pakistan Reh-e-Haq, Pakistan Awami Muslim League, Pakistan Peoples Front, National Party, Awami League, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaniat Allah-O-Akbar Tehreek and Mustaqbil Pakistan.

The official also said that the final date for submission of statement of accounts ECP expired on August 29, and added that according to of Article 14 of the Political Party Order (PPO) 2002, a party, which failed to submit its statement of accounts under Article 13, would not be eligible to obtain an election symbol for contesting elections for the Parliament and provincial assemblies.

According to details, under Article 13 of the PPO, every political party is required to submit a consolidated statement of its bank accounts to the commission, within 60 days from the close of each financial year, on Form-I duly audited by a Chartered Accountant.

The statement of accounts is also required to be accompanied by a certificate signed by the party leader stating that no funds from any source, prohibited under PPO, were received by the party and that the statement contains an accurate financial position of the party.




About Author

Comments are closed.